Are you a Connector, Maven, or Salesman?

I recently read this book called Tipping Point, by Malcolm Gladwell. It’s a wonderful book, talking about how social epidemics start. Well, you have to read the book to find out more, but…

There are three kind of people that make it possible for epidemics to start and explode into well…stuff that everyone knows about- the facebook’s and myspace’s of the world (not limited to the internet of course):

  1. Connectors – These people seem to know everyone. By merely knowing so many people, if an idea comes across to them, they’ll be able to spread the word to all the people they know.
  2. Mavens – These people accumulate knowledge and seem to have detailed information on the newest product, or the newest thing. In the web 2.0 world, they’re called the ‘early adopters’.
  3. Salesmen – These people convince us to use the a product or a website or try something out.

So which one are you?

7 Comments

Filed under Books, Malcolm Gladwell, Social epidemic

7 responses to “Are you a Connector, Maven, or Salesman?

  1. I know this was posted a while ago. Perhaps a re-post is in order? It is such a good book. Me? Well, I am a Maven with a Saleman twist. Finding these types with whom to partner for projects, of any kind, is a key component to reaching ones “goal”. I also see the interenet as the ultimate of the three: it is a Maven, full of info with search engine functionality; it is a connector with its ability to reach anyone at any time; and a saleman with everything from ads and hype to ecommerce and get it whenever you want it.

  2. Thanks for you comment, Maureen. I definitely agree with you. I think the internet makes the ‘tipping point’ easier to attain – it amplifies and expedites the connections, the information gathering and distribution.

    -Sushant

  3. Interesting post. I found it by Googleing ‘blogging salesman’.
    I have not yet read this book. It is on perpetual hold at my library.
    I agree with Maureen that the Internet has brought these three full circle but I would differentiate her discription a bit because there is a constant evolution occuring online. Right now the Connector is on Facebook and LinkedIn, the Maven is on Twitter, and the Salesman is on their blog.
    I am interested to see what your thoughts are on this.

  4. Pingback: thecapacity : What do I win… ?

  5. I think I’m a Maven with a reasonable Connectivity

  6. Jim

    What would you say are the key personality traits of each?

  7. Hey Jim,

    Thanks for your post. You have to keep in mind that people who start these ‘epidemics’ don’t necessarily fit into neat buckets, but it is a good way of thinking about these things.

    Connectors, I see as outgoing, very sociable, like to always be around and surround themselves with people. They’re the heart of the party, and seem to know everyone as you walk down the street with them or go to a networking event.

    Maven, less extroverted than the connectors and salesman – maybe a bit more geeky even.

    I imagine the Salesman to be the natural seller – he/she treats everything as their own personal mission to get you converted to that really sexy gadget or new phenomenon. Sociable, self-confident, persistent, charismatic.

    I thought this was a cool post that you might like too – http://www.lifehack.org/articles/communication/know-your-strength-for-more-success-are-you-a-connector-a-maven-or-a-salesman.html

    -Sushant

Leave a comment